No products in the cart.

Guardians of the Republic Forums Community Preparedness Teams (CPTs) General Preparedness and CPT Skills I can build & teach how to build small portable housing after emergency shelters

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  chris4 3 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

chris4
    Participant

I opened a small construction business in Austin, Texas in 1997. First I was a subcontractor then contractor directly for the home builders.
    I got tired of getting paid late so I moved to strictly working to remodel, repairs and new construction directly with residential customers directly.
    Hurrah! Much better and fascinating to see weird things behind siding/drywall.

However, as a small contractor, sometimes work briefly dries up.
    For a few years, I found such an excellent man to work with that we worked just together and brought in extra help whenever larger jobs came up.
    I was very lucky in finding a company that built excellent portable buildings, up to 12′ x 20′.
    They always had buildings we could do for a fixed price on their site. I also used the knowledge to build similar buildings for my own company on-site when that was requested.

One of the most important is to build both a strong and sturdy enough floor (simple but not at all obvious) and connection to the walls that enabled the buildings to be quickly loaded onto a tilting hydraulic trailer for delivery to the home, work site, etc. And I do mean quick! For example, we lived in these buildings that I built for living purposes including a full bath and kitchen, closet and living room, bed area. A 12′ x 20′ makes a very nice efficiency.
    Any building that sits on 4″ x 4″ skids is just unacceptable even for a garden shed. This method of building is what I consider a little bit of theft.